top of page

FSDB Celebrates 104th Commencement Ceremony

Walter C. Blackmon

The 104th Commencement Ceremony for the Classes of 2018 was held on May 18, 2018, just after the Senior Awards Ceremony, at the Claude R. Kirk, Jr. Auditorium on the FSDB campus. FSDB Board of Trustees Chair Christopher D. Wagner and FSDB President Dr. Jeanne Glidden Prickett gave welcoming remarks and congratulated graduates on their achievements.

Distinguished author, poet, and motivational speaker Walter C. Blackmon of Tallahassee provided remarks as guest speaker during the 104th FSDB Commencement Ceremony, sharing words of inspiration with 2018 graduates from across the state of Florida as they embarked on the next chapter of their lives. Blackmon, who graduated from FSDB in 1991, has proven time and again that the achievement of success is attainable no matter the odds. What drives him most is helping individuals reach that next step at becoming their “very best.” Large or small, he engages his audiences with sincerity and purpose that lifts spirits and causes minds to flow freely with unlimited positivity, belief, and self-worth.

Special honors were bestowed upon Valedictorian Avery Daniel Hutchison and Salutatorian Mackenzie Rose Newman of the FSDB Blind High School Class of 2018, as well as Valedictorian DeanJames Garcia D’Angelo and Salutatorian Cassandra Abigale Medina of the FSDB Deaf High School Class of 2018. Both valedictorians addressed their respective classes – see links below for live stream archive.

You dreamt, you believed, you strived, and you achieved. You are an inspiration to all of us – well done. Congratulations on your graduation day. All of us at FSDB wish you the best of success!

Blind High School Graduates

Milliken Lee Bartlett – St. Augustine

Diamond Sharonda Caldwell – Apollo Beach

Rodney Tyre Cheathem – Deland

Rey Cubas Cardona – Hialeah

Shavanna Kayelee Davis – Jacksonville

Jacquelin Gutiérrez – Homestead

Avery Daniel Hutchison – Keystone Heights (Valedictorian)

Kenneth Alberto Jiménez – Hollywood

Perrii Nastassja Le’Shay Lee – Gainesville

Meliza María Lorenzo – Indiantown

Kiana Montes – Greenacres

Taylor Marie Muske – Punta Gorda

Mackenzie Rose Newman – Green Cove Springs (Salutatorian)

Eric Humberto Ortiz, Jr. – Miami

Angie Alexis Rembis – Orlando

Nicholas Austin Roberts – Boca Raton

Brittany Alysia Russell – Tavares

Deaf High School Graduates

Diana Elizabeth Bonilla – Homestead

Laura de la Caridad Bravo González – Tampa

Ernest Stanley Bristol II – Northport

Wallace Stephen Burrell – West Palm Beach

Francesca Donattella Cappiello Castro – West Palm Beach

José Rolando Chávez – Mulberry

Kenneth Fabricio Corrales Gómez – Miramar

Devon Rashad Cumberland – North Miami Beach

DeanJames Garcia D’Angelo – Palm Coast (Valedictorian)

Arlyssa Anias Davis – Deltona

Javier Omar DiGonzalez – Tallahassee

Cephora Cassandra Dormeus – North Miami

Marissa Paige Droleski – Sunrise

Nicole Marie Espinal – Miami

Tiffany Lashonda Frazier – Titusville

Quintin Edward Galpine – North Lauderdale

Yaschira Mary González Muñiz – Jacksonville

Anthony Hoyt – Palm Coast

Luis Braynnel Hurtado Nuñez – St. Augustine

Jamel Justine Jalil – Hialeah

Terrell Andersen James – Orlando

Tiffany Jamila James – Tamarac

William Chapman Lamberti – Palm Coast

Yasmine Shayne Lee – Tampa

Diana Carolina Manrique Hernandez – Davenport

Rikia Kiara Martin – Miami Gardens

Cassandra Abigale Medina – Deltona (Salutatorian)

Christian Daniel Miranda Reyes – Winter Park

Peter Jacob Nemkovich – Sumterville

Cody James Newsome – Summerfield

Curran Malik Potter – Chipley

William Garrett Rahn – St. Johns

Saul Rebollar, Jr. – Haines City

Andrés Felipe Rendón – Ocoee

Elizabeth Rodriguez – Lake Como

Yahir Omar Rodríguez-Zúñiga – West Palm Beach

Lauren Kristina Santiago – Largo

Jennifer Star Serrano – Clearwater

Riquel Vanesha Thomas – Ocala

Sarah Rose Traczyk – Seminole

Joshua David Trail – Plant City

Johan Sebastian Valentín Sarmiento – Jacksonville

Karl-Eric Berthy Samuel Vital-Egalité – Hallandale

Liam Alexander Von Mahr – Tampa

Christopher Edwin Weber – Orange Park

Dionna Aliza Young – Wesley Chapel

Related Articles and Links


About FSDB The Florida School for the Deaf and the Blind is a tuition-free state public school and outreach center available to eligible Pre-K and K-12 students who are deaf/hard of hearing or blind/visually impaired. At FSDB, students learn how to do more, be more, and achieve more, fulfilling our vision of preparing them for a lifetime of success. FSDB gratefully accepts private donations to support vital programs that directly benefit students and are not paid by state general revenue funds. For a campus tour or to inquire about eligibility for enrollment, contact FSDB Parent Services at 904-827-2212 voice or 904-201-4527 videophone. For more information, visit


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page