Goalball Teams Win National Championships

After a nearly two-year hiatus due to COVID, the FSDB Boys and Girls Goalball teams returned to the competition floor last weekend. The teams traveled to the Texas School for the Blind and Visually Impaired to participate in the 2021 USABA National High School Goalball Championships on November 5-6. Both teams walked away with gold medals as the boys captured their third consecutive National Championship, and the girls claimed their sixth consecutive National Championship.

The Boys Goalball Team consisted of Jason Lubin (Senior, Team Captain), John Montes (Senior, Team Captain), Jose Giron-Reyes (Senior), Tristan Brennan (Junior), Keegan Abner (Sophomore), and Hussam Itani (Sophomore). Leading the team from the sideline were Head Coach Keith Young, who is in his seventh year in that role, and Assistant Coach Justyn Keller.

The Girls Goalball Team consisted of Dejonae Levers (Junior, Team Captain), Natalie Cruz (Senior), Jasmine Camacho-Reyes (Sophomore), Sophia Lopez (Sophomore), and Alexis Ray (Sophomore). Making her head coaching debut for the girls was Katrina Desue. Donna Johnson, FSDB Athletic Director, assisted her in this tournament.

The coaching staff and student-athletes want to thank the FSDB Advancement Department, the donors, administration, teachers, students, and dorm staff for supporting us throughout this trip!

Boys Game Results

  • Florida vs. Central Texas, 10-0 (Pool Play)

  • Florida vs. Texas, 11-1 (Pool Play)

  • Florida vs. Utah, 11-2 (Pool Play)

  • Florida vs. Mississippi, 12-2 (Pool Play)

  • Florida vs. Central Texas, 12-2 (Semifinals)

  • Florida vs. Texas, 12-2 (Finals)

Girls Game Results

  • Florida vs. Texas, 6-2 (Pool Play)

  • Florida vs. Mississippi, 10-0 (Pool Play)

  • Florida vs. Texas, 10-0 (Pool Play)

  • Florida vs. Mississippi, 6-3 (Semifinals)

  • Florida vs. Texas, 10-0 (Finals)

Male Most Outstanding Player (Tyler Merren Award)

  • Jason Lubin

Female Most Outstanding Player (Amanda Dennis Award)

  • Dejonae Levers

Male All-American Team Honors

  • Jason Lubin

  • Tristan Brennan

  • Keegan Abner

Female All-American Team Honors

  • Dejonae Levers

  • Natalie Cruz

  • Sophia Lopez


About FSDB

The F