School Bus Safety Contest Winners

Hand drawn bus safety poster; yellow bus on a blue background with the words Bus Safety above it.
1st Place – Blind Elementary School – Maryia McNabb & Danika Stanchi

National Bus Safety Week is held during the third full week of October each year. This public education program is an excellent way for parents, students, teachers, school bus drivers, and others to join together on the importance of school bus safety.

A poster contest is the centerpiece of National School Bus Safety Week. Thousands of school districts in over 40 states participate in local and state-level competitions to select artwork that portrays school bus safety-related themes that promote school bus safety.

The FSDB Transportation Department modified this year's School Bus Safety Week poster contest to make it suitable for elementary and middle school students. As you know, FSDB has a unique way of getting all our students to and from campus. We practice transportation safety with both our day and weekend bus operations.

Our "Students Home on Weekends" (SHOW) buses bring students from across the state of Florida to and from the FSDB campus. Students who live in St. Johns, Duval, Clay, and Flagler Counties use Yellow buses during weekdays to and from FSDB.

Elementary and middle school students across campus submitted creative poster artwork in line with this year's theme of "A Safe Bus Ride Starts with Me." A panel of judges selected the winning posters from each school (see photos below). Campus staff members and students are invited to view this year's poster artwork submissions on display at the Transportation Department.

Congratulations to 2019-2020 FSDB School Bus Safety Week poster contest winners!

Blind Elementary School

1st Place - Maryina McNabb & Danika Stanchi

2nd Place - Demitri Kostakis

Blind Middle School

1st Place - Randi Hinson & Maxx Ray

Deaf Elementary School

1st Place - Xyla Lentini & Tyler Parenteau

2nd Place - Javion Green & Valeria Rentas Ortiz

Deaf Middle School

1st Place - Kai Huot

2nd Place - Michael Diaz