FSDB 2018 Seniors Receive Awards & Scholarships

The FSDB 2018 Senior Awards Ceremony was held on May 18, 2018, at the Claude R. Kirk, Jr. Auditorium on the FSDB campus, just before the 104th Commencement Ceremony. FSDB President Dr. Jeanne Glidden Prickett gave welcoming remarks and congratulated graduates on their achievements.

An impressive roster of awards and scholarships honored outstanding students for their accomplishments in academics, character, career and technical skills, school and community service, and athletics.

These are listed below, with the names of recipients for each.

(B) – Blind High School (D) – Deaf High School

American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees Scholarships Shavanna Kayelee Davis – Jacksonville (B) Curran Malik Potter – Chipley (D)

The Association of Former Students and Friends of the School for the Blind Award Brittany Alysia Russell – Tavares (B)

Bright Futures Scholarship / Qualification Consideration Avery Daniel Hutchison – Keystone Heights (B) Brittany Alysia Russell – Tavares (B)

The Theresa Castro Award Devon Rashad Cumberland – North Miami Beach (D)

Character Counts Recognition Awards Jacquelin Gutiérrez – Homestead (B) Ernest Stanley Bristol II – Northport (D)

City of St. Augustine / City Commission Citizenship Award Milliken Lee Bartlett – St. Augustine (B)

Civitan Scholarship in Honor of Leo J. Farrell Meliza Maria Lorenzo – Indiantown (B)

Deaf “A Gift from the Universe” Award Tiffany Lashonda Frazier – Titusville (D)

Delta Gamma Foundation Scholarship Brittany Alysia Russell – Tavares (B)