top of page

FSDB Celebrates 105th Commencement Ceremony

The 105th Commencement Ceremony for the Classes of 2019 took place on May 24, 2019, at the Claude R. Kirk, Jr. Auditorium on the FSDB campus, just after the Senior Awards Ceremony. FSDB Board of Trustees Chair Christopher D. Wagner and FSDB President Dr. Jeanne Glidden Prickett gave welcoming remarks and congratulated graduates on their achievements.

Kilmaried Muniz-Rivera, FSDB Valedictorian for the Deaf Department, delivers her commencement speech.

Zoe Wilson, FSDB Valedictorian for the Blind Department, delivers her commencement speech.

Oscar Ocuto delivers his commencement speech.

Distinguished business owner, educator, alumni, and motivational speaker Oscar Ocuto of Austin, Texas shared words of inspiration as a guest presenter. A 1997 FSDB graduate, he is currently a doctoral candidate at Lamar University and the founder of 512 Terps, a Deaf-owned sign language interpreting agency based in Austin, Texas. Learn more about Oscar Ocuto’s background and accomplishments.

Special honors were bestowed upon Co-Valedictorians Martin G. (Gage) Vanderwerf and Zoe Elizabeth Wilson and Salutatorian Reahna Faith Robinson of the FSDB Blind High School Class of 2019, as well as Valedictorian Kilmaried Janet Muñiz Rivera and Salutatorian Jenny Mildred Cicio of the FSDB Deaf High School Class of 2019.

You dreamt, you believed, you strived, and you achieved. You are an inspiration to all of us – well done. Congratulations on your graduation day. All of us at FSDB wish you the best of success!

Blind High School Graduates

Jonathan Lamar Blackwell – Jacksonville

Adam Anthony Corak – Cocoa

Daniel Joseph Coyne – Palm Coast

Benjamin Caleb Daniel – St. Cloud

Bailey Ray Haag – Spring Hill

Sierra Marie Hart – Jacksonville

Angellena Keyara Lampley – Palm Coast

Brianna Paige Lawson – Hawthorne

Tyler Charles Manning – Satsuma

Charlotte May McCleary – St. Augustine

Noah David Prinz – Jacksonville

Reahna Faith Robinson – Jacksonville (Salutatorian)

Travis Michael Tribble – St. Augustine

Martin Gage Vanderwerf – Marianna (Co-Valedictorian)

Isaiah Shemar Williams – St. Petersburg

Zoe Elizabeth Wilson – Holiday (Co-Valedictorian)

Madison Danielle Woodward – Tallahassee


Deaf High School Graduates

Hannah Nicole Anderson – Satsuma

Jonathan Xavier Bryan – Miami

Ixander Bussi – Tampa

Kyle James Chambers – Titusville

Nigel Ahmed Chavarria Flores – Miami

Jenny Mildred Cicio – Green Cove Springs (Salutatorian)

Chole Gabrielle Colo’n-Moore – Orange Park

Victor Eduardo Contreras – Jacksonville

Nathan Nicholas De Los Reyes Diaz – Gainesville

Pinen Kimberly Deshi – Jacksonville Beach

Roza Doci – St. Johns

Trevor Kenneth Egan – Largo

Cooper Alan Garvey – St. Augustine

Amei Xiqiu Gouin – Waldo

Jordan Michael LaCroix – Lake Worth

Kathleen Rose McMahon – Ocala

Darren Patrick Meehan – Palm Coast

Doug Alvin Meehan – Palm Coast

Kilmaried Janet Muñiz Rivera – Palm Coast (Valedictorian)

Keanna Sabrina Nicholson – West Palm Beach

Balboa Melchior Polynice – Delray Beach

Bryan Anthony Raffa – Winter Garden

Alyssa Lauren Vargas – Palm Coast

Samantha Eileen Washburn – Fountain

Caleb Rebekah Harli Wolf – Hollywood


Related Articles and Links


About FSDB

The Florida School for the Deaf and the Blind is a tuition-free state public school and outreach center available to eligible Pre-K and K-12 students who are deaf/hard of hearing, blind/visually impaired, or deafblind. At FSDB, students learn how to do more, be more, and achieve more, fulfilling our vision of preparing them for a lifetime of success. FSDB gratefully accepts private donations to support vital programs that directly benefit students and are not paid by state general revenue funds. For a campus tour or to inquire about eligibility for enrollment, contact FSDB Parent Services at 904-827-2212 voice or 904-201-4527 videophone. For more information, visit


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page